Commonwealth of Australia

Andrew Parkin

    Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingEntry for encyclopedia/dictionarypeer-review


    The System of Government

    Australia, a nation of 14.7 million people, is both a federal and a parliamentary democracy. Federalism reflects the circumstances of Australia's colonial origins. On January 1, 1901, six self-governing British colonies - New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania - federated to form the Commonwealth of Australia. The six colonies remained as component states of the federal system. There are also now two territories - the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory - directly administered for most of their history by the Commonwealth (national) government.
    Original languageEnglish
    Title of host publicationWorld Encyclopedia of Political Systems & Parties
    EditorsGeorge Delury
    Place of PublicationNew York
    PublisherFacts on File
    Number of pages17
    VolumeI. Afghanistan - Mozambique
    ISBN (Print)0871967812, 0-87196-781-2, 0871965747, 0-87196-574-7
    Publication statusPublished - 1983


    Dive into the research topics of 'Commonwealth of Australia'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this