Taxonomy of prokaryotic viruses: update from the ICTV bacterial and archaeal viruses subcommittee

Mart Krupovic, Bas E. Dutilh, Evelien M. Adriaenssens, Johannes Wittmann, Finn K. Vogensen, Mathew B. Sullivan, Janis Rumnieks, David Prangishvili, Rob Lavigne, Andrew M. Kropinski, Jochen Klumpp, Annika Gillis, Francois Enault, Rob A. Edwards, Siobain Duffy, Martha R.C. Clokie, Jakub Barylski, Hans Wolfgang Ackermann, Jens H. Kuhn

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

69 Citations (Scopus)


The prokaryotic virus community is represented on the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses (ICTV) by the Bacterial and Archaeal Viruses Subcommittee. In 2008, the three caudoviral families Myoviridae, Podoviridae, and Siphoviridae included only 18 genera and 36 species. Under the able chairmanship of Rob Lavigne (KU Leuven, Belgium), major advances were made in the classification of prokaryotic viruses and the order Caudovirales was expanded dramatically, to reflect the genome-based relationships between phages. Today, the order includes six subfamilies, 80 genera, and 441 species. This year, additional changes in prokaryotic virus taxonomy have been brought forward under the new subcommittee chair, Andrew M. Kropinski (University of Guelph, Canada).
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)1095-1099
Number of pages5
JournalArchives of Virology
Issue number4
Publication statusPublished - 1 Apr 2016
Externally publishedYes


  • Taxonomy
  • prokaryotic viruses
  • ICTV
  • Bacterial Viruses
  • Archaeal Viruses


Dive into the research topics of 'Taxonomy of prokaryotic viruses: update from the ICTV bacterial and archaeal viruses subcommittee'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this